13 Minutes of Awesome

It’s been a whole month since I last wrote anything on here, mainly due to work/various hangovers that have left me incapable to sit down and type some words. It wasn’t until I spoke to a friend of mine a week or so ago that I actually realised it had been so long and therefore made a promise to myself that I would muster up the willpower to update this here blog on a more regular basis. Yes, I know I’ve made that guarantee before, but this time I’m totally gonna do it. Promise.

In a week where everyone in the UK suddenly became ardent Jay-Z/Kanye West fans who all seemingly got tickets for their “Watch the Throne” tour shows, another clash of epic musical proportions was revealed. Had you told me even 3 or 4 months ago that a member of Blur was to duet with a member of LCD Soundsystem and one half of Outkast, I would have told you that such a thing was utterly incomprehensible. Sure, the last Gorrillaz album threw out such weird combinations as Albarn/Mark E. Smith and Snoop Dogg/Hypnotic Brass Ensemble and sure, Andre 3000 once guested on a Ke$ha track and sure, Arcade Fire did backing vocals at the LCD MSG show last year, but the idea of these three creative masterminds coming to together on the same track was something else. The collaboration came into fruition this week as the song “DoYaThing” leaked on the internet.

http://soundcloud.com/gavrila/gorillaz-doyathing-james

The track featured everything you’d expect; quirky production (courtesy of James Murphy), some bog standard Albarn verses and a verse from Andre 3000 that leaves the hair on the back you neck standing up. First impressions were that it was a good song that’s so fun it actually hurts. And whilst this four minute version was good in itself, almost 24 hours later, THIS was unleashed.

The full 13 minute version blew my fucking mind. It features all that was great in the 4 minute edit and goes full “Yeah” on us, with the production getting even weirder and Andre 3000 taking another page out of Prince’s book by breaking away from what the ‘short’ version represented and taking the song down a totally different rout.  On the full version, he just goes nuts (in the good way), screaming “I’M THE SHIT” for a good five minutes, ad-libbing relentlessly; screaming, rapping, singing and screaming. It truly has to be heard to be believed. The best way to describe his performance is that he goes full blown Bombs Over Baghdad on a Gorillaz track and makes a fun song absolutely mind-blowing.

And the final 4 minutes are hypnotising, the production deliciously wreaks of something Murphy would create (his hook is ridiculous too) and that combined with a laid back and incredibly weird verse from Andre to close the track leave you partially unable to function. After that first listen, I needed five minutes of silence to somehow manage to remember my own name.

We’re still in Q1 of 2012 but are we really going to get another brain-meltingly amazing 13 minute song like this by the end of this year?

Seriously though, we need a new Outkast album in the next 5 years. This is getting beyond ridiculous. Andre, nobody wants to see your films and whilst we all still enjoy your fun cameo verses, the world needs another Outkast album. 

1 comment
  1. Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I
    needed to ask. Does operating a well-established blog such as yours take
    a massive amount work? I’m brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my personal experience
    and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations
    or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

